Home > Hot Issue


Today is Election Day. Please vote.
11/02/2012

Today is
Election Day.

Please vote.

"We don't need perfect political systems; we need perfect participation."
--UFW founder Cesar E. Chavez

It seems people say every election is the most important in our lifetime. That's being said about this one too. But Tuesday, November 6 is critical, because so much is at stake when it comes to the issues that matter most to us such as immigration reform, worker rights and how our food is labeled.

We have the opportunity to vote on November 6 not only for our next President but also for U.S. senators and members of Congress, the state Senate and Assembly as well as councilmembers and county supervisors. Several important measures are also on the statewide ballot. We can make a difference in deciding how we are represented at every level, from local to state to federal.

It is our duty to make sure the people we choose to represent us understand our issues and are willing to take a stand and fight for us. Please make sure you cast your vote on Tuesday, November 6.

As an UFW listserve member, we know you get involved. You're the kind of person who votes. By now you've probably decided who you're going to vote for. If you haven't and want the UFW's input, check out our California endorsements to the right.

Have you decided when you're voting? Are you heading to the polls before or after work? If the day is hectic, do you have a back-up plan?

Most important, do you know where your polling place is? It might be at the same place as last year, BUT it also might have changed.

To double check your polling place so you don't have any surprises in the morning, click here or go to http://www.sos.ca.gov/elections/find-polling-place.htm.

Thank you & Si Se Puede!

Arturo S. Rodriguez, President
United Farm Workers of America

Discount UFW Election Gear

Race
Candidate
Assembly District 7 Michael Allen http://allenforassembly.com/
Assembly District 13 Susan Eggman http://www.susaneggman.com/
Assembly District 18 Rob Bonta http://www.robbonta.com/
Assembly District 30 Luis Alejo http://www.alejoforassembly.com/
Assembly District 32 Rudy Salas http://www.rudysalas.com/assembly
Assembly, Distrcit 47 Joe Baca Jr.
Assembly, Distrcit 49 Edwin Chau http://edchau.com/
Assembly District 50 Betsy Butler http://www.betsybutler.com/
Assembly District 51 Jimmy Gomez http://jimmygomezforassembly.com/
Assembly District 61 Jose Medina http://www.medinaforassembly.com/
Assembly District 63 Anthony Rendon http://www.rendon2012.com/
Senate District 11
Dual Endorsement
Jim Beall http://www.jimbeall.com/
Senate District 11
Dual Endorsement
Joe Coto http://www.joecoto.com/
Senate District 19 Hannah Beth Jackson
http://hannah-beth2012.com/
Senate District 31 Richard Roth
http://www.roth4senate.com/
Senate District 33 Ricardo Lara
5th Court of Appeals Judge Rosendo Peña,
Arvin City Council Jose Gurrola
Delano City Council Ricardo Chavez
Monterey County Supervisor Fernando Armenta
Oakland City Council Ignacio de la Fuente
Sacramento City Council District 2

Rob Kerth

Sacramento City Council District 4 Terry Schanz
Sacramento City Council District 8 Bonnie Pannell
Santa Clara County Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian http://www.joesimitian.com
CA Propositions
Yes YES on 30 - Schools & Safety Protection Act
http://www.yesonprop30.com/
No NO on 32: Stop the Special Exemptions Act: It’s not what it seems. It won’t solve Sacramento’s problems. http://www.stopspecialexemptions.org/
Yes YES on 37: Because we have the right to know what's in our food http://www.carighttoknow.org/